Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Top marks for Borrisokane in All Ireland success

Wednesday, 27th March, 2019 12:53pm
Jump to comments
Top marks for Borrisokane in All Ireland success

Borrisokane Community College captain Matthew Tierney raises the All Ireland "C" Cup in the prescence of his teammates. PHOTO: ODHRAN DUCIE

Top marks for Borrisokane in All Ireland success

Borrisokane Community College captain Matthew Tierney raises the All Ireland "C" Cup in the prescence of his teammates. PHOTO: ODHRAN DUCIE

Masita All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Senior 'C' Hurling Final


Borrisokane Community College 1-22

Colaiste na Coiribhe, Galway 1-12


By Liam Hogan in Ballinasloe

Photos: Odhan Ducie


Memories of past glories came flooding back last Saturday as Borrisokane Community College claimed the All Ireland Schools Senior 'C' Hurling title following an impressive victory over over Colaiste na Coiribhe from Galway in the final last Saturday afternoon.

Success has been rare in recent times in terms of silverware since the amalgamation of the colleges and vocational schools competitions for one of the most successful schools at Vocational level throughout the 1970's and this latest victory bridges a gap of fourteen years since Borris captured their only All-Ireland 'A' title when defeating Colaiste Mhuire Johnstown on a famous day at Nowlan Park.

Current Tipperary footballer Philip Austin scored 1-1 in that 2-9 to 0-8 victory and last Saturday, Colm Fogarty was the goal-scoring hero as the Lorrha man scored 1-2 in a blistering opening seven minutes to set up a win that was never in doubt (bar a ten minute period in the third quarter) long before the final whistle.

Coached by Birr native and former Offaly hurler, Sean Ryan, the Borrisokane side entered this game knowing that Colaiste na Coiribhe were going to be a formidable opposition and when they conceded an opening score to Donal O’Shea (Galway All-Ireland Minor hurling winner 2018 and son of Tipperary selector Eamon O’Shea) from a free after sixty seconds, one felt their fears might come through and it would be a tough day at the office as Colaiste na Coiribhe used their strength and ability to win high ball.


To read more, pick up a copy of this weeks Nenagh Guardian locally or subscribe to our e-paper to access it online each Wednesday.



Man of the Match: Conor Ryan (Borrisokane Community College)

SCORERS – Borrisokane CC: Sean McAdams (5 frees, 2 65s); Neil Connelly (1 free) 0-7 each; Colm Fogarty 1-3 (0-1 free); Conor Ryan 0-3; Michael Tierney 0-2, Oisin Larkin 0-1.

Colaiste na Coiribhe: Donal O’Shea 1-7 (0-7 frees, 1-0 pen); Cathal Sweeney 0-2; Sean Joyce, Jordan Ruffley, Aengus Creane (free) 0-1 each.


TEAMS – Borrisokane Community College: Paidi Williams (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Conor Culhane (Kiladangan), Mark Carey (Nenagh Eire Og), Eamon Hough (Shannon Rovers); Michael Slattery (Shannon Rovers), Matthew Tierney (Shannon Rovers), Roan Murphy (Borrisokane); Mathew Cleary (Kiladangan), Sean McAdams (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Eoghan McGrath (Kiladangan), John O’Meara (Shannon Rovers), Conor Ryan (Borrisokane); Oisin Larkin (Borrisokane), Neil Connelly (Portumna), Colm Fogarty (Lorrha).

Subs: Michael Tierney (Shannon Rovers) for McGrath (39); Michael Egan (Knockshegowna) for O’Meara (58); David O’Sullivan (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for Ryan (61).

Colaiste na Coiribhe, Galway: Tomas Mahon; Conor O’Buaigh, Ronan McGuinness, Stephen Feeney; Ian Ruffley, James Smith, Brendan Hammon; Donal O’Shea, Colm Cunningham; Brendan Palmer, Jordan Ruffley, Oisin Gormally; Cathal Sweeney, Sean Joyce, Aengus Creane.

Subs: Diarmuid O’Maolrua for Palmer (HT); James McLoughlin for Creane (46); Donal Enright for Feeney (47 inj).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*