Ballinahinch/Templederry succumb to Holycross firepower

GAA: County Under 19 'B' Hurling Semi-Final

Holycross/Ballycahill 3-27

Ballinahinch/Templederry 2-14

By James Hayden in Borrisoleigh

Holycross/Ballycahill proved far too strong for North champions Ballinahinch/Templederry in what proved an entertaining County Under 19 ‘B’ Hurling semi-final on Saturday.

The North champions went into this encounter with it all to do against a well-fancied Holycross/Ballycahill side and maintained a dogged fight until the closing quarter but ultimately it was the sheer class of the mid-champions which shone through.

Boasting a starting combination of nine Ballinahinch players and six Templederry representatives the combination side hit the ground running and were the more impressive side in the opening quarter.

The boys in saffron and blue hit the front early on with Adam Ryan and Karl Kelly (free) on target before Ben Hennessy opened Holycross/Ballycahill’s account with a well-struck 65’.

David Fogarty struck for the Mid side’s opening goal in the fifth minute somewhat against the run of play but back came Ballinahinch/Templederry with Adam Ryan (free) and Evan Kearns levelling proceedings within sixty seconds , 1-1 to 0-4.

Holycross/Ballycahill regained the initiative once more with Hennessy and Jimmy Lahart on target but the sides were level again on twelve minutes after Adam Ryan (free) and David Kealy both raised white flags for the North champions.

Holycross/Ballycahill found it hard to reach the pitch of the game in the opening quarter with the Kelly twins, Joey and Karl dominating in defence for Ballinahinch/Templederry and it was no surprise that Holycross/Ballycahill trailed 0-8 to 1-4 at the first water break.

The Mid champions upped the tempo after the break though with points from Jimmie Lahart and David Fogarty bringing Donal Duggan’s charges upsides by the 21st minute, 1-6 to 0-9.

A quick-fire brace from midfielder, Tadgh Gould edged Holycross two in front before Ben Hennessy put further daylight between the sides with a beautifully struck 26th minute point.

The Mid champions led 1-11 to 0-12 at the interval but the game was well and truly still in the melting pot.

Unfortunately, the cracks began to show early on in the second half for Ballinahinch/Templederry and by the 35th minute Holycross/Ballycahill had embellished lead with unanswered points from substitute, Stephen Maher, Ben Hennessy (free) and man of the match, David Fogarty. Fogarty and Jimmie Lahart proved a constant source of ire for Ballinahinch/Templederry and their combined total of 3-12 (3-11 from play) bore testament to this fact.

Ballinahinch/Templederry kept battling away though and when David Kealy netted after his flicked effort on a high dropping ball into the square it brought the north side back to within three as the second water break approached. However, Holycross/Ballycahill tacked on two further points to lead by five at break, 1-18 to 1-13.

The final quarter saw the Mid champions well and truly put Ballinahinch/Templederry to the sword in ruthless fashion and they effectively ran away with the game, outscoring their opponents 2-11 to 1-1. Two goals from the outstanding Jimmie Lahart in the 51st & 57th minutes effectively killed off the Ballinahinch/Templederry challenge.

A relentless Holycross/Ballycahill failed to take the foot off the gas in the final quarter either with James Doyle and David Fogarty running riot. Phelim O’Reilly’s 58th minute goal for the North side proved a consolation but Holycross at this stage were well on the way to a full-deserved 16-point victory.

Impressive for Holycross/Ballycahill were Joe Ceasar, Ben Hennessy, Tadgh Gould, Jamie Lee Dwan, James Doyle, Jimmie Lahart and David Fogarty while Karl Kelly, Joey Kelly, Adam Ryan, Evan Kearns and Mikie Ryan caught the eye for Ballinahinch.

Player of the Match: David Fogarty (Holycross/Ballycahill)

Holycross/Ballycahill: James O’Dwyer (7), Jim Ryan (7), Eoin Craddock (7), Justin Berger-Maher (7); Luke Galvin (7), Joe Caesar (0-1f, 7), Jamie Lee Dwan (7); Tom McGrath (6), Tadhg Gould (0-2, 7); Ben Hennessy (0-8, 4f, 1 65) 8), Stephen Quinlan (7), James Doyle (0-3, 7); Jimmie Lahart (2-5, 8), Conor Ryan (6), David Fogarty (1-7, 0-1f) 7).

Subs: Stephen Maher (0-1, 7) for McGrath (29); Audie Lohan (6) for C. Ryan (41); Lee Ferncombe (NR) for Hennessy (58).

Ballinahinch/Templederry: Sean Collins (7), Jack Mullaney (7), Joe Kelly (7), Nathan Lenihan (6); Mark Kinane (6), Karl Kelly (0-1f, 7), Michael Hayes (7); Mikie Ryan (0-1, 7), Cathal O’Brien (7); Evan Kearns (0-2, 7), Adam Ryan (0-9, 6f) 7), David Kealy (1-1, 7), Liam King (6), Harry Stapleton (6), Darragh Murray (6).

Subs:Phelim O’Reilly (1-0, 6) for Lenihan (38); Malachy Mullaney (NR) for J. Mullaney (59); Darren Gleeson (NR) for King (60).

Referee: Luke Foran (Carrick Swan)