Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • Rugby

Healy to start for Ireland in 5th placed playoff

Monday, 17th June, 2019 9:24am
Jump to comments
Healy to start for Ireland in 5th placed playoff

Ben Healy

Ireland U20 Head Coach Noel McNamara has confirmed the starting XV to take on England tomorrow in the 5th Place Semi-Final of World Rugby U20 World Championships.

The game takes place at the Old Resian Club in Rosario, kicking off at 7.30pm (Irish time), 3.30pm (local).

The side, sponsored by PwC, is captained by second-row Charlie Ryan who locks down beside Thomas Ahern.

The front-row consists of Michael Milne, Dylan Tierney-Martin and Charlie Ward, who makes his first start for the U20s.

The back row sees Azur Allison at Number 8, with Ryan Baird and Ronan Watters on the flanks.

Crag Casey starts at scrum-half and partners Ben Healy.

David Ryan is set for his first Ireland U20 start and he’s named at centre alongside Liam Turner.

Turner, along with Jake Flannery make their ninth consecutive starts for the U20 side.

Aaron O’Sullivan will win his first U20 cap tomorrow and he starts on one wing, with Jonathan Wren on the opposite side.

Clontarf’s Brian Deeny is the most recent injury enforced call-up to the side and he takes his place amongst the replacements.

Ireland U20 v England U20, World Rugby U20 World Championship, 5th Place Semi-Final, (Old Resians Club, Rosario, Monday, 17th June 2019, 3.30pm (local time) / 7.30pm (Irish time)

15. Jake Flannery (Shannon/Munster)
14. Aaron O’Sullivan (UCD/Leinster) *
13. Liam Turner (Dublin University/Leinster)
12. David Ryan (UCD/Leinster)
11. Jonathan Wren (Cork Constitution/Munster)
10. Ben Healy (Garryowen/Munster)
9. Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster)
1. Michael Milne (UCD/Leinster)
2. Dylan Tierney-Martin (Corinthians/Connacht)
3. Charlie Ward (Clontarf/Leinster)
4. Charlie Ryan (UCD/Leinster) Captain
5. Thomas Ahern (Shannon/Munster)
6. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)
7. Ronan Watters (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
8. Azur Allison (Ballymena/Ulster)

16. Declan Adamson (Clontarf/Leinster)
17. Josh Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)
18. Tom Clarkson (Dublin University/Leinster)
19. John McKee (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
20. Brian Deeny (Clontarf/Leinster)
21. Niall Murray (Buccaneers/Connacht)
22. Luke Clohessy (Shannon/Munster)
24. Rob Russell (Dublin University/Leinster)
25. Colm Reilly (Buccaneers/Connacht)
26. Cormac Foley (St.Mary’s College/Leinster)
27. Angus Kernohan (Queen’s University/Ulster)
28. Max O’Reilly (Dublin University/Leinster)
*Denotes uncapped at this level

Ireland U20 World Rugby U20 Championships Fixtures and Results
Pool A
Ireland 42 – 26 England
Club de Rugby Atheneo Immaculada, Santa Fe
Tuesday 4th June 2019
Australia 45 - 17 Ireland
Club de Rugby Atheneo Immaculada, Santa Fe
Sunday 8th June, 2019
Ireland 38 – 14 Italy
Club de Rugby Atheneo Immaculada, Santa Fe
Saturday 12th June, 2019
KO: 10:30 (local) / 14:30 (Irish)
5th Place Semi-Final
Ireland v England
Club Old Resian, Rosario
Monday 17th June 2019
KO: 3.30pm (local) / 7.30pm (Irish)
Finals Day
Racecourse Stadium, Rosario / Club Old Resian, Rosario
Saturday 22nd June 2019


Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*