Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

County Under 14 Hurling joy for Brackens and Roscrea

Friday, 2nd October, 2020 9:48am
County Under 14 Hurling joy for Brackens and Roscrea
County Under 14 Hurling joy for Brackens and Roscrea

GAA: Tipperary Coiste na nOg Under 14 ‘A’ & ‘B’ Hurling Finals




JK Brackens 1-11 

Mullinahone 0-10 


JK Brackens secured a first ever County Under 14 ‘A’ Hurling title as Sean Purcell’s goal proved to the difference as they saw off Mullinahone in the final in Boherlahan on Saturday. 

The Mid kids nudged in front with points from Jamie Ormond and Ciaran O’Shea. Mullinahone kicked into gear key as Darragh Linnane launched attacks. A quickly taken free caught Brackens off guard as Sam Rowan’s shot flew over the bar. Rowan added the next three points, two frees and a ‘65’ as Mullinahone were three in front at the water break. 

Brackens upped the work-rate, drawing level minutes after the restart, Jamie Ormond converted a free he won himself, followed again by a Ciaran O’Shea point thanks to an excellent assist from Tom Corcoran.

It was end to end with both centre backs in fine form with a Dylan Quinlan clearance leading to a Jamie Ormond over the shoulder point. The reply was quick as Sam Rowen from the puckout started a move that was halted illegally with Adam Doyle converting. With half time approaching, Cian Sheedy hit a high ball across goal which Sean Purcell pulled first time to the net to give JK Brackens a 1-6 to 0-5 half time lead.

Mullinahone gave everything in the second half and if Alex Britton’s first minute goal bound kick hadn’t been instinctively saved by Cormac Bourke, they could have turned things around.

The Brackens defence really closed things down and they provided the platform for attacks which led to another Jamie Ormond pointed free.

A telling opening five minutes but the next five were all Brackens as another Ormond free book-ended a superb Cian Sheedy effort and a fourth point from play for Ciaran O’Shea.  

Eight points ahead Brackens began to drop deeper to hold onto what they had but Mullinahone never let up. They hit four unanswered points from play Sam Rowen (2), Adam Doyle & Ned O’Meara to give themselves hope. There were goal chances, a 21-yard free saved by Cormac Bourke while another more difficult angle attempt was sent wide. This steeled Brackens resolve as they held on for a most memorable victory.

JK Brackens panel: Cormac Bourke (J-Capt), Billy Collier, Robert Campion, Dayle Hogan, Robert Lee, Dylan Quinlan (J-Capt), Tom Corcoran, Josh Quinlan, Jack Marnell, Jamie Ormond, Kyle Whelan, Sean Purcell, Aodhan Barrett, Ciaran O'Shea, Cian Steed. Sean Walsh, Padraig O'Shea, Tommy Burle, Niall Delaney, Jack Burke, Shane Leahy, Cian Broderick, Kieran Martin.

Mullinahone panel: Dylan Morrissey, Shane McGrath, Finn Morrissey, Liam Hogan, Eoin Treacy, Darragh Linnane, Cillian Direen, Adam Doyle, Cillian O'Halloran, Matthew Direen, Sam Rowen, Ned O'Meara, Philip Dunne, Alex Britton, Liam Doyle, Nathan Treacy, Brian O'Dwyer, Pearce Vaughan, Colin O'Brien, Luke Duggan, Jack Dunne, Luke Maher, Oisin Maher, Adam Houlihan, Patrick Phelan, Sean Moore, Philip Lynch, Dillan O'Rourke, Joe O'Gorman, Ewen McGrath.

Referee: Padhraic Greene (Moneygall)


Under 14 ‘B’ Hurling Final

Roscrea                         1-8

Cappawhite Gaels    0-10


Roscrea won the County Under 14 ‘B’ Hurling title for the first time as they saw off the challenge of Cappawhite Gaels in the final in Boherlahan on Saturday.

The North champions made a first half switch that saw them open up a lead they managed to hold on to despite a great comeback from the West side.

This was a very tense match as Roscrea lined up with a stiff breeze behind them in the first half. However, they had a hill to climb after a brilliant first quarter from Cappawhite Gaels who scored the first four points from Billy Hayes (2 frees), Josh Fahey and Denis Collins.

Roscrea opened their account from a superb tight angled side-line cut from Sam Dooley that would grace any level of hurling.

However, it was the move of Leigh Loughnane to full forward that opened this game up. The supply route was set up, the ball low in front and let Leigh loose. Inside two minutes he scored 1-1 to put his side in front. A brilliant Sam Dooley point extended the lead. Defensively Cathal McDonald & Josh Loughnane were to the fore while captain Sean Synott launched attack after attack which led to three more points, two for Leigh Loughnane and one from Synott as Roscrea led 1-7 to 0-4 at the break.

Cappawhite Gaels gave the winners a lot to worry about in the second half and a first minute Sean O’Shea free put wind in their sails. O’Shea added a point from play as they began putting Roscrea under pressure and only a fine Harry Loughnane save seven minutes into the second half prevented the margin from being cut to one.  

A Cappa double from Faolin Doyle left that dangerous two-point lead for Roscrea to defend. That lead would be halved when second half sub Cathal Martin pointed for Cappawhite Gaels, all that before the water break.

No lack of effort the mid-day sun sapped the energy from the players efforts. It would take something special to win this Aaron Moloney picked and passed to Sam Dooley to point what would prove to be the winning score.

Cappa launched long balls in which resulted in a Sean O’Shea free which brought it back to a one-point game. Harry Loughnane had to deal with two very tricky attacks to seal a hard-fought win for Roscrea. 

Roscrea panel: Harry Loughnane, Luke Tooher, Cathal McDonald, Conor Hoctor, Daithi Mulvey, Josh Loughnane, Oisin O'Shea, Sean Synott, Declan Walsh, Sam Dooley, Leigh Loughnane, Darragh Fletcher, Aaron Moloney, Billy Hayes, Jack Moloney. Subs: Matthew Moore, Corey Moloney, Bobby Lynch, Sean Nolan, Eoin Moore, Michael Loughnane, Patrick Moloney.                                                                                  

Cappawhite Gaels panel: Morgan O'Connor, Mikey Barry, Conor Ryan, Michael English, Conor Gantley, John O'Donnell, Tommy Costello, Sean O'Shea, Josh Fahey, Darragh O'Hara, John Kelly, Brian Buckley, James Barry, Faolain Doyle, Denis Collins. Subs: Josh O'Dwyer, Sean Hayes, Kian O'Donoghue, Darragh Moloney, Gavin Nugent, Dylan McCarthy, Cathal Martin, Jack Ryan, Conor McCarthy, Jamie Renehan, Ciaran Downey, Eoin Ryan, Darragh Hayes, Patrick O'Connor, Thomas Collins.

Referee: John Lillis (Drom & Inch)

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*