Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Roscrea survive after impressive display

Thursday, 3rd September, 2020 12:17pm
Roscrea survive after impressive display

Luke Cashin was in great form for Roscrea

Roscrea survive after impressive display

Luke Cashin was in great form for Roscrea


Roscrea   2-19

Eire Og Annacarty  1-14


Report: John O’Shea in Drombane


Roscrea retained their place in the 2021 County Senior Hurling Championship after they easily accounted for Eire Og Annacarty in the relegation semi-final on Saturday.

The North sides task was made easier when they were gifted two goals in the opening quarter following defensive errors; Alan Tynan was on hand on both occasions to take advantage. 

Eire Og never recovered from this setback and with Luke Cashin in top form, posing problems for their inside backs, the West side found it very hard to get back in the game.

They trailed by eleven points at the interval but upped their game considerably for the second half, despite playing against the breeze, but that interval deficit was a bridge too far.

Roscrea had done enough before the break and their half-time introduction of Jason Fitzpatrick to midfield strengthened their hold in that sector. Fitzpatrick scored four second half points from open play, as they ran out eight-point winners having conceded a penalty, which was converted by Darragh Mooney, four minutes into stoppage time.

Roscrea opened the scoring when Evan Fitzpatrick pointed after two minutes. Aidan Griffin equalised before Luke Cashin and Paul Downey traded points to tie the game up after five minutes.

This was as close as Eire Og would get, as Luke Cashin hit two points in quick succession before Alan Tynan tapped home the opening goal after nine minutes. Eire Og were trying to come to terms with this when Tynan again netted before the water break to put the North men nine points to the good. To add to Eire Og’s woes, Kevin Fox was forced to retire injured and this led to their reshuffling of the team, with Conor O’Brien dropping back to full back.

Roscrea continued to keep the pressure on Eire Og during the second quarter, playing a very disciplined game and not conceding frees, but Annacarty came more into the game.

However, Luke Cashin and Evan Fitzpatrick continued to pose problems, Cashin finishing the half with eight points, four from play.

Donal O’Dwyer and Eoin Bradshaw put over two each for the West men in the second quarter but overall they played second fiddle during the opening half.

Eire Og needed a good start to the second half and scored the opening three points inside the first seven minutes before Evan Fitzpatrick got Roscrea off the mark.

Donal Sheedy and Donal O’Dwyer exchanged points before Jason Fitzpatrick opened his account on the three-quarter mark.

For the final quarter Roscrea were prepared to sit back and hit Eire Og on the break, with Jason Fitzpatrick popping over three further points. Eire Og were awarded a penalty four minutes into added time and Darragh Mooney gave Daryl Ryan no chance with a low shot to the corner, to give them a consolation goal.

While Roscrea are safe Eire Og now must regroup for the relegation final where they will play Burgess, with the loser playing in the Seamus O Riain Cup in 2021.



Player of the Match: Luke Cashin (Roscrea)

Roscrea: Daryl Ryan (6); Glenn Loughnane (7), Michael Campion (7), Joe Carroll (8); Darragh Tynan (0-1, 7), Shane Davis (6), Dan Ryan (6); Darren O’Connor (7), Aidan Booth (6); Evan Fitzpatrick (0-4, 8), Shane Fletcher (0-1, 7), Conor Sheedy (0-1, 6); Luke Cashin (0-8, 4f) 9), Conor Booth (6), Alan Tynan (2-0, 8).

Subs used: Jason Fitzpatrick (0-4, 8), Keith McMahon (6), Feargus Hannon (6), John Ryan (6).

Eire Og Annacarty: Darragh Mooney (1-0 pen, 6); Diarmaid Ryan (6), Kevin Fox (6), Mike O’Brien (0-1, 6); Mikey Bradshaw (7), Brian Fox (7), Conor O’Brien (0-1, 7); Paul Devlin (7), Paul Downey (0-1, 7); Eoin Bradshaw (0-2, 7), Donal O’Dwyer (0-3, 8), Dinny Crosse (6); Aidan Griffin (0-5, 4f), Patrick O’Dwyer (6), Seanie Ryan (0-1).

Subs: David Fox (6), Liam Og O’Dwyer (6), Tom Fox (6), Ronan O’Brien (6), Stephen McDonald (6).

Referee: John Dooley (Thurles Gaels). 

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*