Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Tipp breach fortress Ennis to beat the Banner

Sunday, 2nd June, 2019 6:07pm

Story by Shane Brophy
Jump to comments
Tipp breach fortress Ennis to beat the Banner
Tipp breach fortress Ennis to beat the Banner

GAA: Munster Senior Hurling Championship Round 3


Clare              0-17

Tipperary     3-21


By Shane Brophy


Tipperary confirmed their place in the All Ireland Series with a thoroughly convincing thirteen point win over Clare at Cusack Park, Ennis today.

The win doesn’t quite book Tipperary’s place in the Munster Final despite making it three wins from three but their score difference of +39 makes it extremely likely if Cork and either Limerick or Clare win their final two games and get to six points.

Tipperary had the considerable elements in the first half but the opening ten minutes were frenetic, played at a savage pace with both sides landing some great scores.

Jason Forde (free) nudged Tipp into an early lead before Diarmuid Ryan landed a long range score for Clare who managed great scores from Podge Collins and David Fitzgerald to lead after five minutes.

Tipp were slick in their use of the ball and Seamus Callanan landed two points under pressure before John O’Dwyer nudged the visitors back in front. That score came from pressure on the Clare puckout with Tipp not allowing the home side easy possession.

Peter Duggan did find the target twice to cancel out a John McGrath point as the sides were level at 0-5 apiece after eleven minutes.

From there, Tipp got the upperhand with Brendan Maher and Forde (free) opening up a two point lead before Shane Golden responded for Clare.

Tipp bagged the crucial opening goal on 21 minutes as good pressure by Seamus Callanan led to David McInerney losing possession and with John O’Dwyer running through, laid off to Noel McGrath and then John McGrath, but as the ball rolled around the square, Noel McGrath poked the ball home.

Tipp pressed on and from the next puckout, Michael Breen played in John McGrath for his second and following a Duggan free, McGrath added another and with Patrick Maher and Noel McGrath also landing fine points, Tipp were seven clear after 24 minutes.

Clare’s final four points of the half all came from frees as Tipp’s discipline began to hurt them, although the last foul on John Conlon was a good one as Clare had the potential for a goal. John McGrath, Noel McGrath and a long range Jason Forde free gave Tipperary a 1-14 to 0-11 half time advantage.

Clare took one point out of the lead early in the second half through Tony Kelly but when Seamus Callanan was alert to a Jason Forde free which came back off the post, he shook the net to put the visitors in complete control.

The goal took the spirit out of Clare who never looked like bridging the gap, held to just seven points in the second half, four from frees. Defensively, Tipperary were superb, even without the ill James Barry with Barry Heffernan keeping John Conlon quiet at full back.

While John McGrath was Tipperary’s top scorer from play with six points, his final one in the 55th minute being the score of the game, Patrick Maher was immense for the Premier County and his 50th minute goal put the result beyond doubt as Tipperary coasted to victory in the last twenty minutes.

Next up is Limerick in two weeks time, by when Tipp might already be in a Munster final, depending on the outcome of next weekends games between Cork and Waterford, and Limerick v Clare.



Man of the Match: Patrick Maher (Tipperary).

SCORERS – Clare: Peter Duggan 0-9 (8 frees); Tony Kelly 0-3 (2 frees); David Fitzgerald, Shane Golden, Diarmuid Ryan, Podge Collins, Aidan McCarthy 0-1 each.

Tipperary: John McGrath, Jason Forde (frees) 0-6 each; Seamus Callanan 1-3; Noel McGrath, Patrick Maher 1-2 each; Brendan Maher, John O’Dwyer 0-1 each.


TEAMS – Clare: Donal Tuohy; Seadna Morey, Patrick O’Connor, David McInerney; Cathal Malone, Jack Browne, David Fitzgerald; Shane Golden, Colm Galvin; Diarmuid Ryan, Tony Kelly, Peter Duggan; Shane O’Donnell, John Conlon, Podge Collins.

Subs: Conor Cleary for Morey (52); Aidan McCarthy for Duggan (57); Gary Cooney for Conlon (60); Aron Shanagher for O’Donnell (64); Ryan Taylor for Golden (68).

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Alan Flynn, Barry Heffernan, Cathal Barrett; Ronan Maher, Brendan Maher, Padraic Maher; Noel McGrath, Michael Breen; Dan McCormack, John O’Dwyer, Patrick Maher; John McGrath, Seamus Callanan, Jason Forde.

Subs: Willie Connors for Breen (56); Jake Morris for O’Dwyer (61); Robert Byrne for R Maher (67); Ger Browne for McCormack (69);

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*