Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Tipp left reeling again by Kilkenny

Sunday, 24th February, 2019 4:13pm

Story by Shane Brophy
Jump to comments
Tipp left reeling again by Kilkenny

Padraic Maher is challenged by Liam Blanchfield. Photograph: Bridget Delaney

Tipp left reeling again by Kilkenny

Padraic Maher is challenged by Liam Blanchfield. Photograph: Bridget Delaney



Tipperary     0-17

Kilkenny        0-18


It was a case of déjà vu all over again for Tipperary as they went down to another late narrow defeat to Kilkenny in round 4 of the Allianz Hurling League at Semple Stadium.

An 85 yard free from goalkeeper Eoin Murphy three minutes into injury time saw Kilkenny snatch victory as they hit back late after Tipperary dominated the second half, coming from four points down at one stage.

Robert Byrne got the scoring underway with a cracking long range point in the second minute but it was Kilkenny had the best of the play and reeled off the next five points in nine minutes through three Alan Murphy frees with Padraig Walsh and Billy Ryan also punishing Tipp’s lethargy.

The home side slowly found their feet and it took until the 17th minute for them to register a second score through a Seamus Callanan close range free with Jason Forde doing likewise from long range three minutes later as Callanan had missed his first effort from distance.

The game didn’t contain the same excitement as recent clashed between these two great rivals but Tipp did produce some good moments leading to scores from Seamus Kennedy and a superb John O’Dwyer score to draw level on 22 minutes.

However, Kilkenny were allowed reassert themselves once more with Walter & Padraig Walsh allowed to drift onto ball too easily to point from play while Alan Murphy brought his free-tally to four.

However, he also missed two efforts later in the half as Tipp kept in touch with a Niall O’Meara point before Ger Malone pointed for the visitors. Noel McGrath and Callanan (free) cut the deficit to a minimum as Tipp had the best goal chance of the half with Michael Breen running onto a Seamus Callanan centre but he shot wide as Tipp trailed 0-9 to 0-8 at half time.

The trend continued early into the second half as Kilkenny went four clear once more as more Tipp indiscipline led to three more frees from Alan Murphy while the hugely influential Walter Walsh was also on the mark.

However, between the 44th and 65th minutes, Kilkenny were held scoreless while Tipperary hit six unanswered points from Callanan (2, 1 free) and two from John O’Dwyer. Tipp were dominant and as they game opened up their hurling improved with Niall O’Meara and O’Dwyer (4th) pulling Tipp two clear.

However, as they tend to do, Kilkenny never die and Martin Keoghan and sub Richie Leahy brought them level. Twice more Tipp got their noses in front through Jason Forde (free) and Noel McGrath but each time Kilkenny responded through an Eoin Murphy (free) and a Richie Hogan point before Murphy had the final say with almost the final play of the game.



Man of the Match: Walter Walsh (Kilkenny)

SCORERS – Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 0-5 (4 frees); John O’Dwyer 0-4; Noel McGrath, Niall O’Meara, Jason Forde (frees) 0-2 each; Robert Byrne, Seamus Kennedy 0-1 each.

Kilkenny: Alan Murphy 0-7 frees; Walter Walsh, Padraig Walsh, Eoin Murphy (frees) 0-2 each; Ger Malone, Billy Ryan, Martin Keoghan, Richie Leahy, Richie Hogan 0-1 each.


TEAMS – Tipperary: Paul Maher; Alan Flynn, James Barry, Ronan Maher; Seamus Kennedy, Padraic Maher, Robert Byrne; Noel McGrath, Willie Connors; Patrick Maher, Michael Breen, Jason Forde; John O’Dwyer, Seamus Callanan, Niall O’Meara.

Subs: Jake Morris for Connors (42); Joe O’Dwyer for Kennedy (48); John McGrath for Patrick Maher (55); Ger Browne for Breen (67).

Kilkenny: Paul Murphy; Paul Murphy, Conor Delaney, Tommy Walsh; Conor Fogarty, Paddy Deegan, Jason Cleere; Padraig Walsh, Alan Murphy; John Donnelly, Walter Walsh, Ger Malone; Billy Ryan, Liam Blanchfield, Martin Keoghan.

Subs: Richie Leahy for Donnelly (42); James Maher for Murphy (52); Richie Hogan for Malone (52); Niall Brassil for Blanchfield (69).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*