Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Cloughjordan to host North Tipp GAA Awards

Wednesday, 9th January, 2019 10:44am
Jump to comments
Cloughjordan to host North Tipp GAA Awards

Kilruane MacDonaghs - North Tipp Senior Hurling champions 2018

Cloughjordan to host North Tipp GAA Awards

Kilruane MacDonaghs - North Tipp Senior Hurling champions 2018

The North Tipperary GAA Awards for 2018 will take place this Friday night, 11th January in MacDonagh Park, Cloughjordan.

As winner of Club of the year for the fifth time, Kilruane MacDonaghs have the honour of hosting the event, at which they will be presented with the MacDonagh Trophy for the first time since 1985.

Also on the night, the Players of the Year will also be presented with their awards, including Kilruane's Justin Cahill who will accept North senior hurler of the year award for his outstanding performances in helping the club to the divisional senior title this year.

Borrisokane's Shane Nevin is intermediate hurler of the year while the junior hurler of the year comes from Toomevara for the second straight year with Paddy Grace picking up the award while clubmate Jack Delaney was selected as under 21 hurler of the year as the greyhounds won the North 'A' titles in their grades, while Kiladangan's Bryan McLoughney rounds off the hurling winners as minor player of the year.

In Gaelic football, Kiladangan's Darragh Egan was named senior footballer of the year with Borrisokane's Colm Larkin scooping the intermediate accolade. Portroe retained the North Junior 'A' title with Noel O'Halloran selected as junior footballer of the year while the under 21 and minor awards went to Newport's Jack Delahunty and Inane Rovers Darragh Tynan respectively.

The overall Nenagh Guardian Hurler of the year and the Darrel Darcy Memorial Footballer of the year will be announced on the night which will also see all winners medals presented to winning teams from the past year to their respective captains)

Senior Hurling - Jack Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Intermediate Hurling - Conor Forde (Borrisokane); Junior 'A' Hurling Championship - Aidan Cahill (Toomevara); Junior 'B' Hurling Championship - Donal McGrath (Templederry Kenyons); Under 21 'A' Hurling - Liam Ryan (Toomevara); Under 21 'B' Hurling - Conor Hickey (Newport); Minor 'A' Hurling - Bryan McLoughney & Matthew Cleary (Kiladangan); Minor 'B' Hurling - Sean McAdams (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Junior 'A' Hurling League – Paul Kirwan (Roscrea); Junior 'B' Hurling League - Noel O'Holloran (Portroe); Junior 'A' Football – Noel O'Halloran (Portroe); Under 21 'A' Football - Mike Gavin (Borrisokane); Under 21 'B' Football - Daniel Carew (Newport); Minor 'A' Football - Glenn Loughnane (Inane Rovers); Minor 'B' Football - James Hanley (Ballina).

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*