Dairy Farmer of the Year Peter Clarke from Shannonhall, Dromineer, with his wife Natasha and children Hollie, Eve and Andrew pictured on the shores of Lough Derg.

Dromineer's Peter Clarke is named Dairy Farmer of the Year

Tipperary dairy farmers Peter Clarke and Martin Ryan were crowned the AHV Ireland Animal Health Dairy Farmer of the Year and the Germinal Responsible Dairy Grassland Manager of the Year respectively at the second National Dairy Awards on Thursday night in the Midlands Park Hotel in Portlaoise.

Peter Clarke is a fifth-generation farmer from Ballycommon, Nenagh. His wife, Natasha, joins him working on the farm.

Their three children, Hollie, Eve and Andrew are always happy to give a helping hand.

Peter is the youngest of seven siblings and worked the farm from an early age, greatly influenced by his parents and brothers.

Peter took over the farm at the age of 20 and has been managing the land ever since. The Clarkes, who are representing Arrabawn Co-op, live in the original family homestead, maintaining a strong connection to their family heritage.

Over the years, Peter has modernised the farm while respecting its traditional roots. Situated on the picturesque banks of Lough Derg, Peter nurtures the land and takes great pride in the environment surrounding him. Peter is a member of the local discussion group, working alongside local farmers to improve farming practices.

Former minister and broadcaster Ivan Yates served as MC for the awards night.


The other Premier Copunty winner, Martin Ryan, from Boherlahan, fine-tuned his grassland management practices over years to combat the challenges that environmental conditions throw at him. Through reseeding, different grassland swards and new techniques, he is constantly making changes to the grass system. Judges said: “It was a very impressive entry showing great care and consideration for soil, grass and livestock.”

Twenty-one awards were presented on the night celebrating the high achievers that continue to develop and strengthen the Irish dairy industry. Other noteworthy winners on the night included Mary Kinston who brought home both the Grassland Agro Best Dairy Advisor of the Year award and the AXA Overall National Dairy Award Winner, presented by Ivan Yates and Christy Doherty, AXA respectively. Professor Donagh Berry won the Agri Insider Dairy Leader of the year award on the night, which was presented by Jason Webb, Content Director, Agri Insider.