Tipperary - Munster Junior Camogie champions. Back row: Rachel Dwyer, Amy Crosse, Eimear Myles, Ciara Ryan, Aoife O’Brien, Ciara McKeogh, Rachel Maher, Ellie Butler, Aoife Dwyer, Aisling Sheedy, Ciannait Walsh, Aisling Carey, Claire Stakelum, Sarah Madden, Nessa Murray, Miriam Murphy, Saoirse McGrath. Front row: Lisa Cahill, Jean Kelly, Eimear Murphy, Aoife McLoughney, Aoife Butler, Caroline Shanahan, Ellen Cunneen, Amy Callanan, Katie Fitzgerald, Clodagh Horgan. PHOTOS: MARTY RYAN/SPORT FOCUS

Juniors follow Seniors to Munster glory

CAMOGIE: Munster Junior Championship Final

Tipperary 1-9

Limerick 0-8


Player of the Match: Jean Kelly (Tipperary)

SCORERS – Tipperary: Aoife McLoughney 0-3 frees; Eimear Myles 1-0; Claire Stakelum, Ellen Cunneen, Jean Kelly 0-2 each.

Limerick: Valerie Shanahan 0-7 (6 frees, 1 45); Lisa English 0-1.

Tipperary Camogie are basking in another Munster Championship success after the junior team defeated Limerick in Sunday’s Munster final in Holycross.

The Premier girls got the opening score after three minutes and led right until the final whistle. Although Tipp never looked like losing the game, they could never shake off the challenge of a gutsy Limerick side who grew more in confidence as the game continued.

It was a hard earned victory for Tipperary with Eimear Myles goal after fourteen minutes along with Limerick’s missed penalty in the second half key turning points in the game.

Tipperary looked to be the stronger of the sides and dominated possession for long periods but some poor wides, coupled with the magnificent free-taking of Limerick’s Valerie Shanahan, meant there was never much between the sides.

Limerick were slow out of the traps and with Amy Callanan superb at wing back for Tipp and Jean Kelly lively in attack, they went into a 1-2 to no score lead by the fifteenth minute. Eimear Myles, who worked hard at full forward, got her reward with the important goal.

The travelling Limerick support had to wait seventeen minutes for their first score, courtesy of a Valerie Shanahan free. It was the first of seven points she would score from placed balls with Lisa English their only other scorer, with their only score from play in the second half.

At half time, Tipperary led by a goal, 1-5 to 0-5 with points coming from Aoife McLoughney (2 frees), Ellen Cunneen (2 from play) and player of the match Jean Kelly. For Limerick, Ann Kennedy was very good at centre back while Saoirse Fitzgerald and Phoenix Mulcaire Shire worked tirelessly in midfield.

The introduction of Ella Hession and switching Laura Southern out field added more pace to the Limerick attack causing the Tipp defence to foul which allowed Valerie Shanahan to extend her tally. With 45 minutes gone, Hession was brought down for a penalty and up stepped Valerie Shanahan but her shot went wide.

Tipperary switched Claire Stakelum to full forward where she immediately started to have an impact. Playing in her own club grounds she was out in front time and again winning possession and slotting over two second half frees.

Player of the match Jean Kelly and Aoife McLoughney (free) also had second half points to give Tipp a four point victory at the final whistle.

It was a fantastic victory for Tipperary, not only did they win some much sought after silverware it will also give the panel a huge boost ahead of their All-Ireland campaign in June.

They showed huge fighting spirit and determination and some brilliant attacking play going forward. David Sullivan and his management team will no doubt be thrilled with the result and the continuing progress of the team while also having areas to work on ahead of their championship opener in June.

TEAMS - Tipperary: Aoife Butler (Eire Og Annacarty); Ciannait Walsh (Eire Og Annacarty), Aisling Sheedy (Portroe), Ciara Ryan (Silvermines); Ciara McKeogh (Burgess/Duharra), Lisa Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Amy Callanan (Moycarkey/Borris); Clodagh Horgan (Boherlahan-Dualla), Caroline Shanahan (Drom & Inch); Claire Stakelum (Holycross/Ballycahill), Aoife McLoughney (Shannon Rovers), Ellen Cunneen (Silvermines); Jean Kelly (Eire Og Annacarty), Eimear Myles (Brian Borus), Aoife Dwyer (Thurles Sarsfields).

Subs used: Katie Fitzgerald (Borris-Ileigh), Sarah Madden (Silvermines), Ellie Butler (Cashel King Cormacs), Nessa Murray (Silvermines), Eimear Murphy (Silvermines).

Limerick: Naomi Ryan, Megan Ryan, Tara Lenihan, Elaine Frawley, Alex Russell, Ann Kennedy, Ciara Houlihan, Saoirse Fitzgerald, Phoenix Mulcaire Shire, Lisa English, Valerie Shanahan, Emma English, Laura Southern, Ciara English, Sarah Cosgrove.

Subs used: Ella Hession, Sarah Shanahan.

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork).