North Tipperary GAA Affairs

Junior 'A' Football Championship: Congratulations to Kiladangan who claimed back-to-back North Junior 'A' Football titles last Wednesday in Borrisoleigh after a 1-8 to 0-10 final victory over Roscrea. A Darren Moran penalty proved to be the difference between the sides. See match report for full details of the game.

Junior 'A' Hurling League: The North Junior 'A' Hurling League will commence this Friday with all games throwing in at 7.00pm.

In Group 1, Nenagh Eire Og host neighbours Kilruane MacDonaghs while Toomevara have a bye in the group. In Group 2, Roscrea host Borris-Ileigh while Ballinahinch host Silvermines in Shalee.

Junior 'B' Hurling League: Kiladangan secured top spot in Group 1 after a 2-20 to 1-11 win over Nenagh Eire Og last Saturday in Puckane. Bill Cleary scored six points from play in the first half for the victors whilst Eoin Meagher and Ciaran Taplin were their goal-scorers.

The remaining game in the group between Portroe and Borrisokane took place on Tuesday 23rd May with no result at time of going to print. A win was required for Portroe to gain second place ahead of Nenagh Eire Og whilst Borrisokane were out of contention for a knock out spot.

Newport topped Group 2 after they defeated Templederry Kenyons 1-21 to 0-18 last Monday in Newport. It was a tight game with Newport pulling away in the closing stages with Newport scoring a late goal from a penalty spot. The round 5 games did not go ahead as Ballinahinch conceded to Toomevara whilst Lorrha conceded to Newport.

Toomevara, Templederry Kenyons and Lorrha all finished on four points each with Templederry Kenyons joining Newport in the knockout stages.

Moneygall continued their good league form with a comprehensive 3-28 to 2-9 victory over an understrength Burgess side last Friday. In what was an excellent first half performance, Moneygall enjoyed a 2-18 to 1-4 half time lead. Burgess improved in the second half, but they were still no match for an impressive Moneygall side. Tommy Devereux, Aodhan Ryan and Anto Devereux were the Moneygall goal-scorers while Oisin Tucker and Niall Madden found the back of the net for Burgess.

Knockshegowna will join Moneygall in the knock-out stages after some impressive shooting in their 1-27 to 2-16 win over Ballina.

The two of the top three placed teams will be drawn straight into the North semi-finals with the remaining top placed team joining the three second place teams in the quarter finals. This draw was done on Tuesday 23rd May with no outcome at time of going to print. The quarter finals will take place this Saturday at 7.00pm.

Top Placed Teams - Kiladangan, Newport and Moneygall.

Second Placed Teams - Nenagh Eire Og or Portroe, Templederry Kenyons and Knockshegowna.