No Munster joy for Roscrea

GAA: AIB Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship Final


Roscrea 0-18

Report: Shane Brophy at Pairc Ui Rinn, Cork


SCORERS - Monaleen: Mark O’Dwyer 0-15 (0-11 frees); Ed Doyle 1-1; Donnacha O Dalaigh 0-2; Ronan Lyons, Joseph Fitzgerald, Lochlann McHale, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave 0-1 each.

Roscrea: Luke Cashin 0-11 (9 frees); Evan Fitzpatrick, Conor Sheedy 0-3 each; Sam Conlon 0-1.

Roscrea’s dreams of a Munster Intermediate Club Hurling title were dashed by a dominant second half display from Monaleen in the final on Sunday.

After an even enough first half where Roscrea trailed 0-11 to 0-10 at half time, the third quarter was where Roscrea have been dominant in recent games but on this occasion it was Monaleen who got the upper-hand and four points in the first three minutes of the second half put Roscrea on the back foot and they never recovered.

And in Mark O’Dwyer, Monaleen had the games dominant player, contributing fifteen points, eleven from placed balls as any Roscrea indiscretion was punished.

Roscrea battled on gamely but managed only three points from play in the second half but the goal they needed never came and instead Monaleen sealed the win with Ed Doyle’s 59th minute goal.

Full report and analysis of the game in this Wednesday’s Nenagh Guardian.

TEAMS – Monaleen: Jamie Power; Simon Griffin, Bryan Canny, Jamie Porter; Leo Morrison, Lorcan Lyons, Ronan Lyons; Joseph Fitzgerald, Lochlann McHale; Dan Power, Mark O’Dwyer, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave; Donnacha O Dalaigh, Ed Doyle, Luke Murphy.

Subs: David Moloney for Power (45); Darren Golden O’Mahony for La Touche Cosgrave (60+2); Ben Hayes for O Dalaigh (60+3); Eoghan O’Driscoll for O’Dwyer (60+4).

Roscrea: Daryl Ryan; James Synott, Keith McMahon, Shane Davis; Darragh Tynan, Darren O’Connor, Michael Campion; Dan Ryan, Alan Tynan; Conor Sheedy, Shane Fletcher, Evan Fitzpatrick; Kenny Lee, Sam Conlon, Luke Cashin.

Subs: Aidan Booth for Davis (blood 29-HT); Conor Phelan for Lee (42); Aidan Booth for Synott (42); Jason Fitzpatrick for Conlon (54).

Referee: Ciaran O’Regan (Ballyhea, Cork)