Roscrea joint-captains Conor Sheedy and Shane Fletcher lift the Seamus O’Riain Cup, presented by County Board Vice-Chairperson Jimmy Minogue (left), in the presence of County Board Chairperson Joe Kennedy. Photos: Bridget Delaney

Ryan stands tall to fire Roscrea back to senior level

GAA: FBD Insurance County Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship Final

Roscrea 1-17

Gortnahoe/Glengoole 0-16

Report: Liam Hogan at FBD Semple Stadium


Player of the Match: Shane Fletcher (Roscrea)

SCORERS – Roscrea: Luke Cashin (3 frees), Alan Tynan, Shane Fletcher 0-4 each; Conor Dooley 1-0; Evan Fitzpatrick, Conor Sheedy 0-2 each; Jason Fitzpatrick 0-1.

Gortnahoe/Glengoole: Keane Hayes 0-9 (7 frees, 1 65); Brian Maher, Ronan Teehan 0-2 each; Jack Moore, Adrian Maher, Darragh Maher 0-1 each.

In the end, it was two excellent saves by goalkeeper Daryl Ryan that helped Roscrea get over the line to defeat Gortnahoe/Glengoole in an entertaining County Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship decider on Sunday.

Ryan’s saves in the final quarter were critical but perhaps it should never have come to that because the winners were well on top thanks to very good first half display which helped them take a seven-point lead before Gortnahoe made a fightback in the last ten minutes.

Roscrea wore their natural red and white jersey while Gortnahoe (who have similar type colours) donned a white jersey with green trim and prior to throw-in, the Respect the Referee Day took place with both teams filing past referee Michael Kennedy.

Scores were level three times in the opening eight minutes with Alan Tynan’s point after thirty seconds matched by an equaliser from Jack Moore before Shane Fletcher’s lead point was cancelled out by Ronan Teehan before Luke Cashin gave Roscrea the lead with his first successful free only to see Keane Hayes level with a similar score.

A Keane Hayes free gave Gortnahoe the lead shortly after Shane Davis denied Kevin Slattery who fired from close range before Luke Cashin levelled matters and Shane Fletcher’s excellent point gave Roscrea the lead for the third time.

That lead stretched to three after Jason Fitzpatrick and Conor Sheedy added a point each, but Keane Hayes interrupted the flow with a point from a 65 in the 21st minute. However, Roscrea best period was about come and when Conor Dooley latched on to a high delivery from Luke Cashin, he fired a bullet past Timmy Dunne in the Gortnahoe goal.

Luke Cashin’s long distance free increased the lead to six. Keane Hayes replied with a free, but Shane Fletcher and Conor Sheedy increased the margin to seven and with half time approaching Adrian Maher narrowed the gap in time for the interval at 1-10 to 0-7.

Two Keane Hayes frees were the start Gortnahoe wanted at the commencement of the new half. Shane Fletcher’s point put Roscrea five in front and their lead might have increased had Alan Tynan’s effort for a goal not been denied by Philip Purcell with a perfect hook before Evan Fitzpatrick stretched the margin to six in the 37th minute.

Keane Hayes pulled back the lead with another free but Roscrea replied through Luke Cashin after an assist from Alan Tynan with the latter prospering from a Dan Ryan assist to put Roscrea seven in front for the second time with fifteen minutes remaining.

If ever Gortnahoe needed to do something now was the time and Brian Maher, excellent at wing back but now at midfield, scored a point quickly followed by three unanswered scores by Keane Hayes, the last a free after Ronan Teehan was fouled on route to goal.

At the other end, Martin Barnaville saved a goal-bound shot from Conor Sheedy but Roscrea went four in front after Evan Fitzpatrick pointed in the 52nd minute. However, Brian Maher second point cut the margin to three once more as the score ratio increased as both Jason Gilmartin and an unmarked Darragh Maher swapped points to leave three separating the sides once again.

With Gortnahoe increasing the pressure there was much excitement but the Roscrea defence were in no mood to give way and on two occasions they needed Daryl Ryan to rescue them from Darragh Maher and Keane Hayes, either side of an Alan Tynan score which sealed the game.

TEAMS - Roscrea: Daryl Ryan (8); Shane Davis (7), Keith McMahon (7), James Synnott (8); Michael Campion (7), Darren O’Connor (7), Darragh Tynan (7); Daniel Ryan (7), Jason Fitzpatrick 0-1 (7); Alan Tynan (8), Luke Cashin (7), Evan Fitzpatrick (7); Conor Sheedy (7), Shane Fletcher (8), Conor Dooley (6).

Subs: Jason Gilmartin (7) for Dooley (41); Kenny Lee (6) for J Fitzpatrick (55).

Gortnahoe/Glengoole: Timmy Dunne (7); Enda McCarthy (7), Karl Campions (7), Philly Purcell (7); Martin Barnaville (7), Davy Nolan (7), Brian Maher (8); Karl Collins (6), Jack Moore (6); Adrian Maher (6), Ronan Teehan (7), Gearoid Fahey (6); Kevin Slattery (6), Keane Hayes (7), Darragh Maher (7).

Subs: Colm Scott (6) for Collins (38); Aidan Guilfoyle (6) for Fahey (41); Liam Hayes (HR) for Slattery (56).

Referee: Michael Kennedy (Newcastle).