At the launch of the Tipperary Coiste na nOg Minor ‘A’ & ‘B’ Hurling Championships were: Back row: Ann McGrath (PRO, Coiste na nOg), Danny Moore & Diarmuid Campion (Moyne-Templetouhy), Paddy Kennedy (Clonoulty/Rossmore), Patrick Horan (Cappawhite), Cathal Treacy & Sean McGrath (Silvermines), Dillon McCormack (Moneygall/Clonakenny), Sam Rowan & Fionn Morrissey (Mullinahone), Brendan Ryan Weston (Gortnahoe/Glengoole), Simon Blackmore (Ballingarry), Tommy Landers (Chairperson, Coiste na nOg). Front row: Callum Walsh (Carrick Swan), Jim Ryan (Holycross/Ballycahill), Adam Daly (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Jack Dalton (Golden-Kilfeacle), Eoin Larkin (Roscrea), Sam O’Farrell (Nenagh Eire Og), Luke Ryan & Owen O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Liam Corcoran & Joe Egan (Moycarkey/Borris). PHOTO: MICHAEL BOLAND

County Minor Hurling Championships are launched

By Liam Hogan

The quarter finals of the County Minor (Under 17) ‘A’ & ‘B’ Hurling Championships will be played this weekend, adding to a bumper weekend of club action.

It will see eight games played as Tipperary Coiste na nOg Chairperson Tommy Landers explained at the launch of the County Championship at the Horse & Jockey hotel on Sunday evening.

He admitted that planning the eight games would be difficult as they coincide with the staging of the quarter finals in the Dan Breen, County Premier Hurling and Intermediate grades.

“We have a big job ahead of us as we secure venues and referees, while also trying to help clubs avoid clashing with a senior game. Hopefully we will do our very best to avoid clashes,” he said.

The concept of giving divisional runners-up a second chance through the county quarter finals was was brought forward in 2021 and it seemed to have worked and has been retained.

“Being involved with my own club Knockavilla Kickhams and been beaten in a divisional final by one or two points I thought it would be a good idea to give a second chance to especially our minor hurlers,” Landers added.

“We don’t always get everything right especially gradings. We did our best but there was a couple that could have been different. All we can do is look at it again next year and maybe next year we will do our gradings in a slightly different way.”

Landers added that the quality of the divisional underage championships so far has backed up a successful year at underage level, topped off by winning the All-Ireland Minor title in July.

“To win the Tony Forrestal and the Sony Walsh, to win the John Doyle and the Arrabawn Shield proves it was a terrific year for Tipperary hurling,” he said.

It is also the second year of the minor championship at under 17 level and after initial teething problems, Landers is happy with how the uneven age grades are working.

“Everybody knows I was against the idea initially but now I am willing to say I am very happy with the new age limits. I think it has worked out very well and a lot better than I thought it would,” he said.

In the Minor ‘A’ quarter finals, North champions Nenagh take on Knockavilla Kickhams while runners-up Roscrea take on West champions Golden-Kilfeacle. The other two quarter finals pair the Mid with the South as out of the Mid division as Moycarkey/Borris take on Killenaule and Carrick Swan face Holycross/Ballycahill.

In the Minor ‘B’ quarter finals, North winners Silvermines take Clonoulty/Rossmore on Saturday while on Sunday, Moneygall/Clonakenny have to contend with Cappawhite Gaels. The other quarter finals involve South winners Mullinahone or Ballingarry v Moyne-Templetuohy and South runners-up Mullinahone or Ballingarry v Gortnahoe/Glengoole.