Clonakenny's Kian O'Dwyer.jpg

Clonakenny record notable victory

GAA: Centenary Agri Mid Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship Preliminary Round


Clonakenny        3-17
Thurles Sarsfields    0-20

Report: Liam Doran in Killea

Clonakenny got safely over the first hurdle in the Mid Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship with a six-point victory over Thurles Sarsfields on Sunday, and in doing so created their own piece of history, a first victory over Sarsfields at senior level.

While it was Sarsfields second senior XV, they still had a strong side out, but Clonakenny played very well, and were well worth the margin of victory. Two goals in quick succession just before the water break in the second half stunned Sarsfields, as it put Clonakenny 2-14 to 0-18 ahead, and the third goal just before the end was the coup the grace.

Sarsfields had the first score through a Jack Lanigan point, but Clonakenny quickly equalised through Jonathan Cody, and went ahead through Bobby Bergin. Sars hit three wides in succession, as Jonathan Cody put Clonakenny two points up. Jack Lanigan had Sars second point from a free. Kian O’Dwyer, who was to contribute a magnificent 0-11, pointed a 65, and then two frees to stretch the lead. Jack Lanigan pointed a free for Sars, but Kian O’Dwyer responded, and just on the water break, Lanigan pointed, to leave it 0-7 to 0-4.

On the resumption, Sars moved up a gear, and with three points from Lanigan, two from Rory Purcell, and one each from Michael Russell, Cian Treacy and Mossy McCormack, found themselves 0-12 to 0-11 in front at the interval. Kian O’Dwyer kept his side close with points from frees, and they were unlucky not to get a goal, as Nicky Ryan’s shot was saved by the keeper.

Clonakenny were level at 0-13 five minutes into second half, but the introduction of Seanie Butler boosted Sarsfields as he hit four points. Nicky Ryan’s goal, quickly followed by one from Jonathan Cody, had Clonakenny 2-14 to 0-18 ahead at the water break. 

Clonakenny were now in control, and John O’Meara’s goal following a 65 by Kian O’Dwyer sealed a memorable victory. They now meet Moycarkey/Borris in the quarter final next Sunday.

Player of the Match:
Kian O’Dwyer (Clonakenny)
Clonakenny: Walter Byrne; Alexi Harty, Diarmuid Ryan, Tom Carr; John Mullally, John Joe Ryan, Donie Greed; DeLacy Byrne, Conor Shanahan; Kian O’Dwyer (0-11) Peadar Byrne, Matthew Sullivan; Bobby Bergin (0-2), Nicky Ryan (1-1), Jonathan Cody (1-2).
Subs: Prionsias Matthews for Shanahan, John O’Meara (1-0) for P Byrne; Michael John Carroll (0-1) for Sullivan, Kane Russell for T Carroll; John Costigan for Cody.
Thurles Sarsfields: Matt O’Brien; Seosamh Ryan, Rory Dwan, Pa Dunne; Michael Purcell (0-1), Jack Derby, Cian Stakelum; Rory Purcell (0-3), Harry Fitzgibbon; Jack Lanigan (0-8), Michael Russell (0-1), Bill Darcy; Paul Maher, Cian Treacy (0-1), Mossy McCormack (0-1). Sub: Sean Butler (0-4) for Darcy.
Referee: Seamus Delaney (JK Brackens)