Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • Soccer

Borrisokane CC denied in dramatic finale

Wednesday, 13th March, 2019 1:20pm
Jump to comments
Borrisokane CC denied in dramatic finale

A devastated Nathan Lynch at the final whistle. PHOTO: ODHRAN DUCIE

Borrisokane CC denied in dramatic finale

A devastated Nathan Lynch at the final whistle. PHOTO: ODHRAN DUCIE

Carrigaline Community School 4

Borrisokane Community College 3


By Enda Treacy in Charleville


Four goals in the final 15 minutes from Carrigaline dashed Borrisokane’s hopes of an upset and clinching a most unlikely win in this FAI Schools Munster Senior Challenge Cup Final on Monday.

Borrisokane CC will be sick after letting this one slip through their fingers, as they were leading 3-1 after 77 minutes and seemed to have picked their moments perfectly to win the game – despite their Cork counterparts looking the better side for large spells.

A Neil Connelly hat-trick seemed to have been written in the stars when the Borrisokane striker scored his third in the 77th minute but Conor Drinan’s 91st minute winner sunk the North Tipp men to their knees, as they just couldn’t hold on for the win after giving their all for 90 minutes.


To read more, pick up a copy of this weeks Nenagh Guardian locally or subscribe to our e-paper to access it online each Wednesday.



Man of the Match: Conor Drinan (Carrigaline CS)

Carrigaline Community School: Niall O’Leary, Adam Doyle, Glenn Sexton, Adam O’Driscoll, Kyle Murphy, Cillian Hayes, Ronan Connolly, Jack Turner, Valdo Janson, Conor Drinan, Stephen Darcy.

Sub: Michael Hammett for Doyle (64).

Borrisokane Community College: Eoghan Tinkler, Paidi Williams, Damien Bergin, Mark Carey, James Kirk, Sean McAdams, Matthew Cleary, Jack Mahoney, Matthew Moyles, Nathan Lynch, Neil Connelly.

Sub: Stephen Darcy for Williams (77).

Referee: John McNamara

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*