Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • Other Sports

Nominees announced for National Greyhound Racing Awards

Monday, 11th March, 2019 12:53pm
Jump to comments
Nominees announced for National Greyhound Racing Awards

Cabra Hurricane, winner of the €10,000 Night of Stars 525 in November, heads the list of Tipperary nominations for the 2018 National Greyhound Racing Awards.

Hurricane, trained by Pat Guilfoyle in Moneygall and owned by Paul Scally in Thurles, is nominated for ‘Dog of the Year’, along with 2018 Irish Greyhound Derby winner Ballyanne Sim and Slippy Cian, trained by Graham Holland and owned by Limerick’s Full House Syndicate.

Patricia Tobin in Kilfeacle, Co. Tipperary will also be presented with an IGB ‘Welfare Award’ on the evening. Ms. Tobin and her beloved greyhounds were regular attendees at Regional and National Retired Greyhound Shows and has also been a regular attendee at Dog Shows throughout Co. Tipperary with her retired greyhounds. While also promoting greyhounds as pets at Limerick Greyhound Stadium, she also took part in the IGB’s ‘Our People, Their Stories’ last year, focusing on the work of volunteers with retired racing greyhounds. Also receiving Welfare Awards are Bridget Murphy (Cork) and Robert and Lesley Pullen (Galway).

Javielenko, trained by Pat Buckley in Cappawhite, is also nominated for ‘Stayer of the Year’ after his 2018 Corn Cuchulainn win and Cesarewitch runner- up performance, along with Are Nagini and Ballykett Beauty.

The ‘Special Merit’ award will be jointly presented to Bob Shanahan and Tim Keane, regular attendees at Limerick Greyhound Stadium. Bob has been a director of the stadium and a member of the local Advisory Council, as well as part of a number of syndicates, while Tim, also a member of the Advisory Council, is a former chairman of the Irish Greyhound Owners and Breeders Federation and has owned greyhounds for nearly 50 years.

The ‘Hall of Fame’ award will be presented to Waterford’s Gerry Kiely.

Gerard Dollard, CEO of the Irish Greyhound Board, commented: “The National Greyhound Racing Awards are a fitting way to showcase the very best that our sport has to offer, in both canine and human form. I wish to congratulate all nominees for their achievements. The high standard of quality across all categories is evidence of the commitment and passion that exists within the Irish greyhound sector.”

The winners of the awards will be revealed at a special ceremony in the Killashee House Hotel in Naas, Co. Kildare, on Sunday, March 24.

Tickets are €40 per person for adults and €15 per person for children and are now on sale on

Full list of nominees for the 2018 National Greyhound Racing Awards:

Dog of the Year

Ballyanne Sim

Cabra Hurricane

Slippy Cian


Bitch of The Year

Ballymac Arminta

Jaytee Jordan



Sprinter of the Year

Ardnasool Jet

Broadstrand Kiwi

Rossbirr Ranger


Stayer of the Year

Are Nagini

Ballykett Beauty



Brood Bitch of the Year

Ballydoyle Honey

Global Liberty

Sizzling Sarah


Stud Dog of the Year

Droopys Jet

Kinloch Brae

Laughill Blake


Future Star

Ballymac Anton

Killer Bee

Sliabh Liag


Special Merit Awards

Bob Shanahan

Tim Keane

Gerry Kiely


Welfare Awards

Bridget Murphy

Patricia Tobin

Lesley and Robert Pullen

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*