Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • Other Sports

Tipperary book shortlisted for Sports Book of the Year

Thursday, 8th November, 2018 3:30pm
Jump to comments
Tipperary book shortlisted for Sports Book of the Year

eir sport Book of the Year Longlist .jpg

Tipperary book shortlisted for Sports Book of the Year

eir sport Book of the Year Longlist .jpg

eir sport has announced details of the longlist of entries for what is the fourth year of the eir sport Book of the Year. 23 books in total are in the running to follow in the footsteps of the 2017 winner, ‘The Choice’ by Dublin footballer Philly McMahon as well as 2016 winner, ‘What Do You Think of That’ from Kerry footballer, Kieran Donaghy and the 2015 winner, ‘Dub Sub Confidential’ from former Dublin footballer John Leonard.


eir sport also confirmed the judging panel for this years’ award which is comprised of renowned sports editors and journalists from the Irish sporting media. The judging panel will be independently chaired by Mark Duncan.


Susan Brady, Managing Director of Consumer and Small Business at eir commented;


“Once again, the eir sport Book of the Year has delivered a remarkably high standard of books competing for this years’ award. We have received a wide range of entries that cover fantastic topics and subject matters. I would like to thank our partners at Publishing Ireland and the publishing houses throughout the country without whom this award would not be such a success.” 

The President of Publishing Ireland, Ivan O’Brien added;  “There have been some great sports books published again in Ireland this year. The eir sport Book of the Year recognises the very best of these, and Publishing Ireland are delighted to again partner with eir sport in this award.  We look forward to seeing the shortlist and the eventual winner that the judging panel selects. Best of luck to all the authors!”


The winning author of the eir sport Book of the Year will receive a €1,500 cash prize, a specially commissioned trophy and €10,000 worth of TV advertising on eir sport.


The final shortlist will be announced at the end of November with an awards event taking place in Dublin on Monday, 10th December where this year’s winner will be revealed.



eir sport Book of the Year Full longlist:





The Obsession

Seán Cavanagh with Damian Lawlor

Black and White Publishing

100 Greatest GAA Moments

John Scally

Black and White Publishing


Hugh Cahill

Hachette Ireland

Dream. Believe. Achieve. My Autobiography

Jonathan Rea

Harper Collins


Rosemary Smith with Ann Ingle

Harper Collins

Play It Again, Des

Des Cahill

Sport Media

The Boys of ’93: Derry’s All-Ireland Kings

Eamonn Coleman with Maria McCourt

Merrion Press

Tony 10

Declan Lynch and Tony O’Reilly

Gill Books


Andy Lee with Niall Kelly

Gill Books

At All Costs

Davy Fitzgerald with Vincent Hogan

Gill Books

The Rory’s Stories Guide to Being Irish

Rory O’Connor

Gill Books

110% Legend

Tony Keady with Liam Hayes

Umbrella Publishing

Dark Arts

Mike Ross with Liam Hayes

Umbrella Publishing

Game Changer

Cora Staunton

Penguin Ireland and Transworld Ireland

The Hurlers

Paul Rouse

Penguin Ireland and Transworld Ireland

Dublin: The Chaos Years

Neil Cotter

Penguin Ireland and Transworld Ireland

The Lost Soul of Eamonn McGee

Paul D. Gibson

Mercier Press

The Little Book of Irish Athletics

Tom Hunt

The History Press

Great Moments in Irish Rugby


O’Brien Press

Behind the Lines, No. 2: Great Irish Sports Stories from the 42

Journal Media

The Last Amateurs

Jonathan Bradley

Blackstaff Press

The Man Who Was Never Knocked Down

Rónán Mac Iomaire

Rowman and Littlefield

The Growth and Development of Sport in County Tipperary 1840-1880

Pat Bracken

Cork University Press


Judging Panel:



Media Outlet:

Eoin Sheahan

Off the Ball – Newstalk 106-108fm

Pat McCarry

Clare McNamara


Cliona Foley

Freelance sportswriter

Mike Scully

Irish Daily Mirror

Paul Kimmage

Sunday Independent

Malachy Clerkin

Irish Times

Colm O’Connor

Irish Examiner


Judging Panel Chair: Mark Duncan

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*