Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Tipperary U20 team named for Monday clash with Clare

Sunday, 18th October, 2020 10:40am
Tipperary U20 team named for Monday clash with Clare

Tipperary face Clare on Monday at Semple Stadium.

Tipperary U20 team named for Monday clash with Clare

Tipperary face Clare on Monday at Semple Stadium.

Clonoulty Rossmore’s John Devane takes on the roll of manager with Tipperary under 20 hurlers this year in a bid to defend their Munster and All-Ireland titles as his side take on Clare in Semple Stadium on Monday with a 7.30pm throw in.
It’s a tall order in any year but even more difficult in the midst of the Covid restrictions which means the game is been played in cold October weather and under lights, a huge contrast to the weather enjoyed by the victorious side under Liam Cahill last August.  In addition he has the added task of facing a Clare side that has had the Indian sign on Tipp over the last decade or so. We have to go back to 2010 since Tipp last beat the Banner in the U21 grade and since then there were three defeats in 2012, ’13 and ’14.

“Its strange,” said Devane who returns to inter-county management after he was selector under William Maher in the 2016 campaign.

“For the group of players we have, they would take any alternative. This is the same group who lost out when minor went to under seventeen. It’s there last year at underage. It is weird but as a management I think we just grasp what we have behind closed doors but we are3 happy to be there and have the opportunity,” said John.

The weather could be a factor. Was that in the management’s mind when picking the final panel?  

“We had just called the panel back in March before the lockdown came. We said we would stay with the same bunch of players. We owed it to them. They had a lot of work done during lockdown. We went back training the 14th September. The weather was lovely then, we knew a change could come in October, wind and rain perhaps, and that was in the back of our minds,” said Devane.

The Clonoulty man had Dan Hackett, Kiladangan; Ken Dunne, Toomevara and Richie Ruth Thurles Sarsfields on his management team and they have seen a share of great club championship games in their preparation for their championship clash with the Banner.

“It was a serious club championship, it’s a testament to the county Board for running it so well. We saw our players and thankfully they were to the forefront with the club. The three Kiladangan lads, it was a huge testament to them, they had a huge say. Bryan McLoughney got the headlines and Sean Hayes and Darragh Flannery played a huge part also.”

“Right back to Seamus O’Riain and intermediate championship. Johnny Ryan of Arravale Rovers won a west title last week. Those players have led from the front, you can see the calibre of players we have in there,” remarked the Clonoulty man. 

Does the fact that Tipp are Munster and All Ireland champions increase the pressure?

“I don’t think so. The year that’s in it has changed the goalposts for everybody. There is pressure but as long as we can produce the performance on Monday week and the players will be happy with the preparation we’ve had over the last month so everybody is on a level playing field. There is pressure but nothing to do with the success over the last two years,” added Devane who managed his club to win Dan Breen in 2018. 

Clare have been a formidable side in this grade over the past decade or so and this will continue?

“Clare have a fine side. They have a good turn over from last year’s team; they would not have made the headlines last year but Clare ran Cork close down in Pairc Ui Rinn. We know how capable that Cork team were

“There is a strong carryover. I read during the week there is a lot of the players in with Brian Lohan’s senior squad. We are under no illusions as to what’s coming down the tracks on Monday,” said the Clonoulty man. 

The winner face Waterford on the 26th of October so the quickness of the competition week on week off is no problem? 

“Once it does get rolling its week after week, better than waiting around for three weeks. The Monday night has no real effect, a lot of the lads are now working at home online so it has worked out well; we will do three light sessions this week.”


N.B. Following his successful role of manager with Clonoulty Rossmore who won the Dan Bren in 2017, it’s his first year in the role of manager with a county team. John was coach with William Maher back in 2016 and 2017 along with Liam O’Shea.

He is a winner too, including a Munster senior hurling in 2009 plus a Under 21 in 2003 while adding a National Hurling League in 2008.



 The starting 15 includes 13 of last year's panel. The team lines out as follows;

1. Aaron Browne - Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams
2. Johnny Ryan - Arravale Rovers
3. Conor Whelan - Carrick Davins
4. Éanna McBride - JK Brackens
5. Fintan Purcell - Drom-Inch
6. Eoghan Connolly (captain) - Cashel King Cormacs
7. Ray McCormack - Borris-Ileigh
8. Kevin Maher - Borris-Ileigh
9. Kevin McCarthy - Toomevara
10. Gearóid O'Connor - Moyne-Templetuohy
11. Conor Bowe - Moyne-Templetuohy
12. Devon Ryan - Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams
13. Andrew Ormond - JK Brackens
14. Kian O’Kelly - Kilruane MacDonaghs
15. Seán Hayes - Kiladangan
16. Rhys Shelly - Moycarkey-Borris
17. Darragh Flannery - Kiladangan
18. John Ryan - Boherlahan-Dualla
19. Keith Ryan - Upperchurch-Drombane
20. Kieran Moloney - Thurles Sarsfields
21. Max Hackett - Moycarkey-Borris
22. Jack Morrissey - Moycarkey-Borris
23. Seán Ryan - Templederry Kenyons
24. James Devaney - Borris-Ileigh


Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*