Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Tipperary Under 20 Hurlers cruise into Munster Final

Tuesday, 9th July, 2019 9:36pm

Story by Shane Brophy
Jump to comments
Tipperary Under 20 Hurlers cruise into Munster Final

Conor Bowe of Tipperary is presented with his Man of the Match award by Seán Stanley, age 7, from Gortnahoe/Glengoole. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Tipperary Under 20 Hurlers cruise into Munster Final

Conor Bowe of Tipperary is presented with his Man of the Match award by Seán Stanley, age 7, from Gortnahoe/Glengoole. Photo by Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Tipperary     3-23

Waterford     0-10


By Shane Brophy


Tipperary set-up a home final against either Cork or Clare with a facile 22 point victory over Waterford in the Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship semi-final at Semple Stadium this evening.

The defending All Ireland champions, despite the change in grade from under 21 last year, were far too good for a depleted Waterford side who were outclassed and book-ends a disappointing hurling championship this summer in which they failed to win a game at senior, under 20 and minor level.

In a low key encounter, when Tipperary flexed their muscles in the first half, they opened up an 0-11 to 0-5 half time advantage without ever clicking into top gear.

The sides traded the first four points from frees before Gearoid O’Connor got the first score from play for the home side on thirteen minutes.

Jake Morris top scored with thirteen points, eleven from frees, in a stop start encounter with Sean Hayes, Conor Bowe and O’Connor all registering from play in the first half with Waterford managing just one score from open play from James Power two minutes from half time.

Tipperary put the game to bed early in the second half with three goals in the space of eight minutes, the first two from corner forward Conor Bowe in the space of a minute with Joe Fogarty adding the third on the three quarter mark, running onto a Billy Seymour pass.

The win was so comfortable that Tipperary’s three senior panellists in Morris, Jerome Cahill and Paddy Cadell were able to be withdrawn around the three quarter mark in advance of their All Ireland senior quarter final with Laois next Sunday.

Waterford offered little, managing just two points from play with Billy Power their best attacking weapon with eight points from placed balls.

For Tipperary, they will have gained little in terms of knowing how good they potentially are going into the Munster final and an All Ireland semi-final but in captain Craig Morgan, Ciaran Connolly, Jerome Cahill and Conor Bowe they had excellent performers while Billy Power’s free-taking was the most eye-catching for Waterford in an evening to forget.



Man of the Match: Conor Bowe (Tipperary)

Scorers for Tipperary: Jake Morris 0-13 (11 frees); Conor Bowe 2-2; Billy Seymour 0-4 (3 frees); Joe Fogarty 1-0; Gearoid O’Connor 0-2; Sean Hayes, Andrew Ormond 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Billy Power 0-8 frees; Tom Barron, James Power 0-1 each.


Tipperary: Aaron Browne (Knockavilla Kickhams); Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonaghs, Capt), Michael Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields), Conor McCarthy (Nenagh Eire Og); Ciaran Connolly (Loughmore/Castleiney), Bryan O’Mara (Holycross/Ballycahill), Eoghan Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs); Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens), Jerome Cahill (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Gearoid O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy), Joe Fogarty (Moneygall), Conor Bowe (Moyne-Templetuohy); Billy Seymour (Kiladangan), Sean Hayes (Kiladangan), Jake Morris (Nenagh Eire Og).

SUBS: Kian O’Kelly (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for Hayes (47); Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers) for Cahill (48); Andrew Ormond (JK Brackens) for Morris (49); Niall Heffernan (Golden Kilfeacle) for Cadell (50); Devon Ryan (Knockavilla Kickhams) for O’Connor (53)

Waterford: Dean Beecher (Tallow); Tom Looby (Abbeyside), James Flavin (Ardmore), Sam Fitzgerald (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg); Dan Booth (Colligan), Iarlaith Daly (Lismore), Brian Lynch (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg); Billy Power (Clonea), Sean Whelan-Barrett (Abbeyside, Capt); Tom Barron (Fourmilewater), Ian Beecher (Tallow), Gavin Fives (Tourin); Oisin O Ceallaigh (An Rinn), Michael Kiely (Abbeyside), James Power (Clonea).

SUBS: Mairtin Power (Clonea) for Lynch (21-24 blood); Tadhg Foley (Ballygunner) for Fitzgerald (39); Eoin O’Reilly (Passage) for Whelan-Barrett (42); Mark Twomey (Abbeyside) for O Ceallaigh (45); Mairtin Power for Booth (46); Liam O’Brien (Ballinameena) for Daly (55)

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*