Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Wexford deny Tipp in added time

Sunday, 17th February, 2019 4:13pm
Jump to comments
Wexford deny Tipp in added time


Wexford deny Tipp in added time




Wexford          1-15

Tipperary       1-14


By Shane Brophy at Innovate Wexford Park


Tipperary were denied at the death as Wexford claimed an injury time victory in this round 3 Allianz Hurling League clash today.

The first half was a scrappy affair but Tipperary got off to a blistering start with Seamus Callanan running onto a Niall O’Meara pass and holding off Darren Byrne, pulled to the net on 47 seconds.

Diarmuid O’Keeffe got Wexford off the mark from play before Seamus Callanan and Ian Byrne traded frees for their respective sides. Byrne added two more frees before Ronan Maher burst forward to point from long range on eleven minutes.

Making his first start between the posts in over a year, Paul Maher was forced into a fine save to deny Aidan Nolan and at the other end, Jason Forde was inches away from a second goal as his shot flashed over the bar before Byrne converted another free for the home side.

The first half was a scrappy affair and despite playing with a strong wind, Tipp couldn’t create many openings with Kevin Foley sitting back as sweeper.

Callanan converted a free before Tipp suffered a blow when Noel McGrath was sent off for a second bookable offence on 33 minutes for a high tackle on Diarmuid O’Keeffe.

But Tipp upped a gear up to half time, outscoring the home side three points to one, forcing the issue, leading to three frees which Seamus Callanan converted to a long Paudie Foley point as Tipp led 1-7 to 0-6 at the break.

Tipperary started the second half superbly well and extended the lead by four points inside seven minutes from the hugely impressive Niall O’Meara (2), Callanan, the hard working Robert Byrne.

Diarmuid O’Keeffe and Ian Byrne (free) got Wexford up and going before they got the goal they needed on 46 minutes when Tipp were caught short in defence from a throw-in with Ian Byrne playing in Seamus Casey for a well finished goal.

The impetus was with the home side as Ian Byrne (free), Casey and Kevin Foley pointed to bring the sides level on 57 minutes.

However, this was a performance of great courage from Tipp with fourteen men in the second half and they dug in to go ahead three times more from frees from Seamus Callanan and Jason Forde while sub Jake Morris also nudged Tipp ahead on 68 minutes.

Wexford responded each time with a Cathal Dunbar sideline cut, Rory O’Connor and Diarmuid O’Keeffe, and in the third minute of added time, the extra man finally told against Tipp as Lee Chin found Aidan Nolan unmarked 55 yards out to slot between the posts to put Wexford into the lead for the only time in the match and deny Tipperary something they deserved from the game.



Man of the Match: Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)

SCORERS – Wexford: Ian Byrne 0-6 frees; Seamus Casey 1-1; Diarmuid O’Keeffe 0-3; Paudie Foley, Kevin Foley, Rory O’Connor, Cathal Dunbar (1 s-cut) Aidan Nolan 0-1 each.

Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 1-7 (0-6 frees); Niall O’Meara, Jason Forde (1 free) 0-2 each; Ronan Maher, Robert Byrne, Jake Morris 0-1 each.


TEAMS – Wexford: Eanna Martin; Damien Reck, Darren Byrne, Shane Reck; Kevin Foley; Shaun Murphy, Matthew O’Hanlon, Paudie Foley; Diarmuid O’Keeffe, Aidan Nolan; Liam Og McGovern, Harry Kehoe, Ian Byrne; Cathal Dunbar, Conor McDonald.

Subs: Lee Chin for D Reck (HT); Rory O’Connor for Byrne (51); Harry Kehoe for Casey (62); Simon Donohoe for O’Keeffe (66-67 blood);

Tipperary: Paul Maher; Donagh Maher, James Barry; Padraic Maher; Seamus Kennedy, Ronan Maher, Barry Heffernan; Robert Byrne, Michael Breen; John O’Dwyer, Noel McGrath, Patrick Maher; Jason Forde, Seamus Callanan, Niall O’Meara.

Subs: Jake Morris for O’Dwyer (51); Willie Connors for Heffernan (53); Alan Flynn for D Maher (57); John McGrath for O’Meara (58 inj); Tom Fox for Byrne (68).

Referee: Colm Lyons (Cork)

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*