Cookies on The Nenagh Guardian website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the The Nenagh Guardian website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
Hide Message
  • GAA

Hurling & Football League draws

Thursday, 14th February, 2019 11:57am

Story by Shane Brophy
Jump to comments
Hurling & Football League draws

Nenagh Eire Og - County Hurling League Division 1 winners 2018

Hurling & Football League draws

Nenagh Eire Og - County Hurling League Division 1 winners 2018

The draws have been made for this years County Hurling & Football Leagues.

Following a proposal from Lorrha which was passed at the annual structures meeting last November, the format of the hurling league has been altered slightly with divisions 1 to 3 expanding from twelve to sixteen teams, with two groups of 8 teams, meaning each club is guaranteed seven games before the knockout stages. Division 4 remains the same with 12 teams divided into two groups of 6 as many clubs at that level will be starting junior championships in June so the fewer number of league rounds is to avoid fixture congestion for those teams.

In division 1, the top two teams will progress to the semi-finals while the bottom team in each group will be relegated to division 2. In divisions 2 through 5, there will be no semi-finals with the group winners progressing straight to the final and with it promotion to the next tier.

The dates for the County Hurling League have been confirmed for the weekends of 10th March, 17th March, 28th April, 6th May, 26th May, 9th June & 23rd June, with the semi-finals on 7th July with the final to be played a week later.

The five rounds of football league action are pencilled in for weekends 3rd March, 10th May, 19th May, 3rd June & 30th June with semi-finals on 14th July and finals a week later.

Hurling Leagues

Division 1

Group 1: Nenagh Eire Og, Loughmore/Castleiney, Toomevara, Clonoulty/Rossmore, Eire Og Annacarty, Killenaule, Roscrea, Portroe

Group 2: Upperchurch/Drombane, Burgess, Borris-Ileigh, Moycarkey/Borris, Thurles Sarsfields, Kilruane MacDonaghs, Kiladangan, Drom & Inch

Division 2

Group 1: Carrick Swan, Templederry Kenyons, Silvermines, Holycross/Ballycahill, Clonakenny, St Mary's, Cashel King Cormacs, Borrisokane

Group 2: Lorrha, Newport, Mullinahone, Ballina, JK Brackens, Ballingarry, Golden Kilfeacle, Shannon Rovers

Division 3

Group 1: Ballinahinch, Moyne-Templetuohy, Drom & Inch, Cappawhite, Boherlahan-Dualla, Lattin Cullen Gaels, Kiladangan, Ballybacon/Grange

Group 2: Kilsheelan/Kilcash, Galtee Rovers, Knockavilla Kickhams, Gortnahoe/Glengoole, Moneygall, Sean Treacys, Moyle Rovers, Clonoulty/Rossmore

Division 4

Group 1: Fr Sheehys, Grangemockler/Ballyneale, Mullinahone, Arravale Rovers, JK Brackens, Loughmore/Castleiney

Group 2: St Patricks, Carrick Davins, Skeheenarinky, Rockwell Rovers, Thurles Sarsfields, Moycarkey/Borris

Division 5: Thurles Gaels, Cappawhite, Ballylooby/Castlegrace, Newcastle, Cahir

Division 6: Junior 'B' League – Will be finalised at a later date


Football Leagues

Division 1

Group 1: Arravale Rovers, Ardfinnan, Cahir, Clonmel Commercials, JK Brackens

Group 2: Ballyporeen, Galtee Rovers, Moyle Rovers, Kilsheelan/Kilcash, Moyne-Templetuohy

Division 2: Fr Sheehy’s, Fethard, Clonmel Óg, Ballylooby Castlegrace, Mullinahone

Division 3

Group 1: Killenaule, Newcastle, Solohead, Emly

Group 2: St Patricks, Clerihan, Nenagh Eire Óg, Sean Treacys


Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with an epaper subscription from €2.20*