Kiladangan - County Junior ‘A’ Camogie League winners 2022

Kiladangan end long wait for silverware

CAMOGIE: County Junior ‘A’ League Final

Kiladangan 2-11

Holycross/Ballycahill 1-11 (after extra time)

Report: Liam Hogan in Puckane


Player of the Match: Aideen Hackett (Kiladangan)

SCORERS - Kiladangan: Paula Kelly (frees), Emma Mulqueen (3 frees) 0-4 each; Meadbh Ryan, Maria Minehan 1-0 each; Emma Gavin, Ava Seymour, Emma Cahalan 0-1 each.

Holycross/Ballycahill: Lynda Fanning 1-10 (0-7 frees, 0-1’45); Elaine Brennan 0-1.

Extra time was required to separate Kiladangan and Holycross/Ballycahill as the former prevailed in a highly entertaining County Junior ‘A’ Camogie League final on Saturday evening.

The victory helped the home-side win back silverware for the first time in thirteen years when they won the Junior ‘B’ championship.

Little separated the teams in a tense battle. Scores were level five times in the hour, the latest when Paula Kelly’s free brought parity at 1-9 each to send the game to extra time where Kiladangan took the lead and when Paula Kelly’s 72nd minute free put them two to the good. There was still the danger of a Holycross goal, but Kiladangan keeper Aoife Gleeson produced two spellbinding saves to secure the win.

Emma Gavin had Kiladangan in front after eighty seconds before Holycross midfielder Elaine Brennan levelled. Emma Mulqueen’s close-range free moved Kiladangan in front by the fourth minute and Ava Seymour increased the Kiladangan lead with a point from play.

Despite the deficit, Holycross were beginning to show their worth and two close-range frees by Linda Fanning had them level by the fifteenth minute. The visitors continued to apply the pressure with Linda Fanning levelling matters with a free before converting a forty-five on eighteen minutes.

Then it was the turn of Kiladangan to grab some scores as Emma Cahalan pointed from play before Emma Mulqueen levelled with a free in the 26th minute. Having levelled, the home-side were growing in confidence and their next attack had Holycross under prolonged pressure before the ball was cleared out to an unmarked Meadbh Ryan who lobbed the ball into the net after seeing the Holycross keeper Sarah Ryan off her line.

There was more as Emma Mulqueen broke free to score a great point from play as the half time whistle arrived with Kiladangan 1-6 to 0-5 in front.

The second half was five minutes old when Linda Fanning struck gold for Holycross with an excellent goal after the corner forward doubled on a low ball from close range. Fanning then levelled from a long range free in the 41st minute but two minutes later Kiladangan regained the lead thanks to a Paula Kelly free.

With both defences stepping up a gear or two the chances of scoring were minimum and the accuracy of respective free-takers was vital as Fanning levelled the game for the fourth time before edging the Mid side the lead with two pointed frees in the 51st and 54th minutes.

Leading 1-9 to 1-7 it looked as if Holycross had taken a grip on the game, but true Kiladangan spirit emerged after Emma Mulqueen secured her fourth point, and third from a free, before Paula Kelly’s latest point from a free meant extra time was required at 1-9 each.

A tension filled opening two minutes saw both sides share attacking ideas, but it was Kiladangan who struck oil first when Maria Minehan pounced on a loose ball to the net.

Both sides strove for more scores, but Holycross had to settle for another Lynda Fanning free before the teams changed ends one more time.

Two minutes into the second period saw Paula Kelly move Kiladangan three clear but another Fanning free left two points separating the sides as the excitement and tension rose to new levels.

With Holycross dominating the Kiladangan half of the field they came in search of a winning goal but efforts from Lynda Fanning and Mags Fanning were denied by Gleeson in goal with the county under 16 sixteen netminder excelling with the second save which resulted in a forty-five which the accurate Lynda Fanning just off target.

Kiladangan came forward and won a sixty-metre free which Paula Kelly converted leaving Kiladangan three clear and league winners.

The Kiladangan side had many heroes not least Aideen Hackett who was an excellent as sweeper with Paula Kelly, Eimear Hogan, Teresa Colins, Meadbh Ryan, Emma Gavin, Ava Seymour, and Emma Cahalan to the fore in front of an inspiring goalkeeper Aoife Gleeson.

Lynda Fanning was Holycross/Ballycahill’s best player in attack with Roisin Comerford and Fiona Judge in attack while Aishling Slattery and Clodagh Morris were best in defence in front of their reliable goalkeeper Sarah Ryan. Anna Gavin, Kate Dwan, and Elaine Brennan caught the eye.

TEAMS - Kiladangan: Aoife Gleeson; Michelle McLoughlin, Eimear Hogan, Eimear Meagher; Nicole McGrath, Caoimhe Noonan, Paula Kelly; Teresa Collins, Meadbh Ryan; Emma Gavin, Ava Seymour, Emma Cahalan; Jane Minehan, Aideen Hackett, Emma Mulqueen.

Subs: Maria Minehan for Mulqueen (54); Kaela Power for McLoughlin (54); Karen Mulcahy for Noonan (4 ET); Olivia Mulhall for Cahalan (HT ET); Sinead Seymour for M Ryan (19 ET).

Holycross/Ballycahill: Sarah Ryan; Gemma O’Dwyer, Aishling Slattery, Claire McGrath; Clodagh Morris, Anna Gavin, Kate Dwan; Elaine Brennan, Jody Maher; Fiona Judge, Katie Ryan, Julie Brennan; Roisin Comerford, Sara Gleeson, Lynda Fanning.

Subs: Mags Fanning for Brennan (41); Meadbh Ryan for Judge (42); Siobhan Ryan for E Brennan (HT ET).

Referee: Mike Ryan (Nenagh Eire Og)