Minor footballers aim to feed off Under 20 progress

The Tipperary minor footballers become the final inter-county team into championship action this evening (Wednesday) when they take in Limerick in a Munster quarter final.


LIT Gaelic Grounds, Limerick

Wednesday 21st July

Throw-in @ 7.30pm (E.T.)

Referee: Eamon Moran (Kerry)

The team, managed by JK Brackens Johnny Nevin have been biding their time in recent weeks as all the other Premier County teams got onto the pitch, and wrapped up their preparations with a pitch session in Semple Stadium last Saturday following the Clare v Wexford All-Ireland Hurling qualifier.

Former Tipperary senior and under 21 manager Peter Creedon is involved this year as coach and his experience and knowhow will be a huge benefit to this group of players, with Christopher Ryan (Kilsheelan/Kilcash) and Adrian Cooke (Upperchurch/Drombane) also part of the management team.

Tipperary will be hoping to feed off the progression made by the under 20 footballers in recent weeks who went from not winning a match in the grade for six years, to winning two in a week, and reaching a Munster Final.

It was a boost underage football in the county badly needed and the minors could also do with going deep into the championship as possible and there is a massive opportunity to get to a Munster Final as the winner of this evening’s quarter final will meet Clare in the semi-final, with Kerry and Cork on the other side of the draw.

Tipperary suffered a harrowing 1-24 to 1-4 defeat to Clare in their only championship match in 2020 and from which there are four survivors in goalkeeper Tom Bourke; defender Sean O Meara, and forwards Darragh McVicker, and Eoin Craddock.

Tipperary team v Limerick: Tom Bourke (JK Brackens); Michael Ryan (Ballingarry), Sean O’Meara (Grangemockler/Ballyneale), Charlie King (Ballina); Senan Butler (Kilsheelan/Kilcash), Jack O’Neill (Ardfinnan), Charlie English (Ballyporeen); Tadhg Sheehan (Clonmel Commercials), Zac O’Loughlin (Kilsheelan/Kilcash); Eoin Craddock (Holycross/Ballycahill), Niall O’Connor (Clonmel Og), Kian O’Reilly (Clonmel Commercials); Darragh McVicker (Clonmel Og), Paul Mullen (Drom & Inch), Diarmuid O’Riordan (Newport).

Subs: Eoghan Doyle (Rockwell Rovers), Darragh Spillane (Fethard), Jake Canny (Boherlahan-Dualla), Thomas Charles (Clonmel Commercials), Cian Smith (Clonmel Commercials), Liam Hayes (Gortnahoe/Glengoole), Fionn Fitzgerald (Killenaule), Joe Higgins (Clonmel Commercials), Brian Quinn (JK Brackens).

Other panel members: Sean Cagney (Clonmel Og), Sean Cannon (Knockavilla Kickhams), Alex Moloney (Durlas Og), Paul McCahey (Loughmore/Castleiney), Conor Neville (Fethard), Paddy O’Keeffe (Moyle Rovers), Shane Ryan (Clonmel Commercials).